Every state defines certain criminal offenses differently. In Nevada, assault and battery are viewed as two separate offenses with separate penalties for assault and battery. Nevada defines assault as a person making a threat to physically harm another person. Prosecutors must prove the alleged victim was aware of the threat and the alleged suspect had the intent to assault the victim. Intentionally and unlawfully physically harming a person is considered battery. Prosecutors must prove the intent to harm and prove that unlawful force was used against a person.

Penalties for assault

Penalties for assault and battery vary slightly from one another. Penalties for an assault conviction in Nevada include:

  • Misdemeanor – Community service, up to six months in jail, and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
  • Gross Misdemeanor – Up to 364 days in jail and/or up to a $2,000 fine.
  • Category D Felony – One to four years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine.
  • Category B Felony – One to six years in prison and/or up to a $5,000 fine.

Penalties for battery

The penalties for a battery conviction in Nevada include:

  • Misdemeanor – Community service, up to six months in jail, and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
  • Gross Misdemeanor – up to 364 days in jail and/or up to a $2,000 fine.
  • Category C Felony – One to five years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Category B Felony – 1 to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Category A Felony – Two years to life in prison with or without the possibility of parole and up to a $10,000 fine.

Penalties for assault and battery can vary based on several factors including:

  • The suspect is currently an inmate, on probation, or on parole.
  • The suspect was in possession of a deadly weapon.
  • The suspect attacked a member of a protected class like a police officer.
  • The suspect committed a sex crime.

Penalties for assault and battery can be devastating for the accused. If you have been charged with assault and battery, the law firm of Guymon & Hendron can defend your rights in court and minimize the penalties for assault and battery. Contact our office at Guymon & Hendron online or call 702-758-5858 today to schedule a free, no obligation consultation.